Letting go

“I will forever regret you.”

If that statement were directed at you, think for a moment how you might feel.

Angry? Surely.

Saddened? Without a doubt.

Heartbroken? BINGO.

Those words were in a message I received on Facebook today, out of the blue, from a friend I haven’t seen or talked to in several months. Be aware that I have done nothing to wrong this person. Her words were simply generated by disapproval of my choices in life. Not to mention, this individual has a reputation for creating havoc in her personal relationships. When we were close, I often worried for her, as did a handful of mutual friends. She frequently slashed and burned familial ties and dissolved friendships over trivial issues. So, her heartless words should come as no surprise.

Still, reading “I will forever regret you” still stings.

So, I did what any melodramatic 20-something would do: I cried. And cried. Then I ate some chocolate. And then cried some more.

But why did I care so much about her judgmental, disapproving message? Because of this fundamental truth:

WE ALL WANT TO BE LOVED.

Fortunately, after a conversation with a trusted friend, I was able to pull myself together.ย  The initial indignation I felt has passed. The tears have dried. And I actually give this former companion credit for helping me to learn a very important lesson:

Not everyone on this planet is going to love me. And that’s okay.

6 thoughts on “Letting go

  1. I feel you. I got some pretty painful emails that I’ll never forget.

    Oddly, the one that hurt the most (besides my mom’s) was from a friend who eventually left a few years later, and now we’re best friends. I think she was on the verge of leaving herself and hated herself for it, and it came out at me.

    Things eventually got better with my parents, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m really glad you have a solid foundation of self-love to draw on. It takes years to heal, but it sure makes the healing easier! Love!

  2. Ditto,
    I had an instance where I apologized and tried to make up and all the response I got was “if you didn’t stand for what you believed in I wouldn’t respect you.. If you have any questions let me know.”

    I could go on but couldn’t we all?

    Take care and hang in there, I know how painful it is and your not alone.
    LOVE MILLIONS!!!!

  3. Sometimes you grow apart from people and then realize you have nothing in common, sometimes you grow apart and realize that those you used to call friends are actually pretty rotten people. C’est la vie. New friends will always come along.

    PS: “I will forever regret you” sounds like she stole it from a song lyric. Not even original. Pah.

Leave a Reply

