Letting Go – Part II

Autumn has arrived, but I’ve been spring cleaning.

Yes, that means ridding my life of unnecessary tangibles. But I’ve also been removing the dustbunnies from my brain and the cobwebs from my heart.

And yes, it’s been somewhat painful. I’ve grown quite accustomed to my junk.

But sometimes there is beauty in letting go—not only of clutter, but of friends that suddenly decide they no longer enjoy your company, of lovers that suddenly don’t want your companionship, and of habits, attitudes and belief systems that are simply no longer beneficial for personal growth.

The trees lose their leaves every fall, yet they survive. They’re simply waiting, ever so patiently, for renewal.

And so am I.

2 thoughts on “Letting Go – Part II

  1. I think it was Lao Tzu that said something to the effect, “when I let go of who I am; I can become what I might be”. Obviously “zen”, but there is some truth to be found in that. Letting go can be the epiphany.

Leave a Reply

