Inspiration: Working for It

It’s only day two of a daily blogging resolution and it’s already getting to me.

It’s not that I have nothing to say (quite the contrary, actually), I’m simply hypersensitive to the amount of literary crap that abounds in the blogosphere, and the last thing I want to do is further pollute the waters of decent writing that remains.

When putting words out there into the world, I want the message to be poignant, honest, and, above all, inspiring. But, in order to do that, I must be all of those things. And try as I may, I just couldn’t get there tonight.

Remembering the wise words of Stephen King (“Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration. The rest of us just get up and go to work.”), I brought several boxes of old photographs from my garage and into my living room began rifling through images, looking for something–anything–that would merit sharing.

That was at around 7:30. It’s now after 11:00 p.m., dangerously close to my self-imposed deadline. After several hours of reminiscing, I still don’t have anything profound to say. I’m still mentally processing the photographic chronicle of the last ten years of my life. But even though the digging didn’t yield anything worthy of the Interwebs just yet, I did the most important part: I showed up for “work”. Maybe tomorrow I’ll exude literary brilliance. Maybe not. (In fact, probably not.)

But on this beautiful, snowy night, merely showing up is more than enough.

Leave a Reply

