29 Reasons Why It’s Gonna Be the Best Summer Ever

Reason number one: If it’s not, I’m leaving the country, come 2014. (No pressure.)

My house is very close to being the perfect summer barbecue hotspot.

I replaced a mediocre bike with a vintage beaut that’s a dream to ride, so greenbelt jaunts are already so much more fun.

A couple of weeks ago, I rafted Cabarton Run for the first time, and I see more excursions of the sort in the very near future.

Cabarton

Three of my favorite people in this world are getting married. (Not all to each other, FYI.)

There are two new farmers markets in the area.

I’m adopting a new “salad-a-day” ritual.

I’ll be organizing far more camping trips than last year.

I killed a spider without screaming the other day, so I’d like to think that’s a good omen.

I’m 29–and holding. (But seriously, I just turned 29.)

I have almost a full year to make sure I’ve lived my twenties to their fullest.

I planned an ’80s rollerskate–and many of my bestest friends actually came.

80s rollerskating

I’ve learned, for what might be the umpteenth time, what it feels like to fall in love–and what it feels like when it slips away.

On a related note, I’m realizing I can’t have everything I want.

I’m also realizing that what I want may not always be what’s best for me. (Or, at least, that’s how I’m making myself feel better.)

I’m discovering the true meaning of patience, perseverance, tenacity–and the appropriate times for each.

My creativity is at an all-time high.

Book club is on summer hiatus, which gives me time to catch up on self-indulgent reads. (Maybe now’s the time to take up 50 Shades of Gray.)

Ladies Culinary Adventure Club is in full swing.

Culinary Adventure Club

For the first time ever, I drank out of a penis-shaped straw. (Bachelorette parties back in the day were quite tame.)

I’m learning to stop giving a shit about what those of questionable character may think of me.

I’m learning to care more about what those of stand-up character think of me.

I’m getting better about figuring out who fits in which category.

A couple of long lost friendships have been rediscovered, and I can’t wait to pick up where we left off.

I’m replacing my gym membership with lunchtime yoga, pole dancing classes, and mountain bike rides.

Amber on Pole Cat

My body is plumper and paler than I can ever remember, but I also like living in my own skin more than ever before.

I’ve quit coffee, and took up tea in its place; My morning ritual feels less frenzied and a little more zen.

I’m starting to really enjoy long, late night walks.

I’ve taken a liking to On the Border’s all-day happy hour on Sundays. Avocado fries and Coronaritas, for the win!

The grass is finally greener on my side of the fence–both literally (thanks to a new sprinkler system) and figuratively. Yep, my life is pretty awesome.

Wait, that’s 30? I must have gotten away with myself. I’m guessing the summer of 2013 is going to be even better than I thought.

Leave a Reply

